The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

 

It’s a classic. Every child (and parents) love Eric Carle’s The Very Hungry Caterpillar. I’ve read this so many times that the story has been engraved in my mind. I do wonder if it flows out of my mouth when I sleep talk? No, I don’t. 

Theo loves poking through the holes of each fruit in the book. He loves it when I say “beautiful butterfly”. Never fail to get a few giggles when I reach the end of the book. The colourful, broad brushstroke illustrations are an eye-catcher for kids and babies learning to turn pages will love the flaps in the book. 

This is a great book even for toddlers because it makes the whole process of metamorphosis fun and interesting. A hungry caterpillar that eats all the goodies such as a lollipop, cupcake, ice-cream cone and chocolate cake is surely something a young child can relate to. Definitely a good book to use in the classroom to teach children how a caterpillar becomes a butterfly. 

 

One thought on “The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Leave a Reply

